Food Safety Certifications: The Different Certifications Explained - Cenza

Food Safety Certifications: The Different Certifications Explained

The CDC estimates that approximately 48 million people get sick from foodborne illnesses each year. Numbers like these pose huge liabilities to restaurants, food trucks, and grocery stores. If you're in the business of food, then it's critical that your staff receive their food safety certifications.

Are you curious about the types of food safety certifications available? What do they teach you and how do you get them? Read on to learn everything you need to know to get your team up to speed on food safety!

Food Safety Manager Certification

The Food Safety Manager Certification is a great option for everyone on staff. Your restaurant staff starts with a food safety course that teaches them about the basics of food safety. This includes things like preventing foodborne illnesses and reducing the risks of outbreaks in the food service industry.

Following the completion of the course, the participants complete the Food Protection Manager Certification Exam. This exam is accredited by the American National Standards Institute - Conference for Food Protection. Test takers who pass the exam receive certification that is valid for five years.

Food Safety Manager courses and certifications are offered in both English and Spanish. Courses are also available in-person and online.

ServSafe Manager Certification

ServSafe is a series of certifications offered through the National Restaurant Association. The National Restaurant Association is nationally accredited. ServSafe focuses on different regulatory requirements for food safety in each state.

Participants take a course through ServSafe. This educates them on foodborne illness and prevention. It also teaches them how to train employees on food sanitation procedures.

Once you complete the course, you must purchase a proctored examination. Completing this certification is a great complement to your other certifications!

HACCP Food Safety Employee Certification

HACCP is a complex food safety management system. It stands for Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point, and it is a great way to make sure your restaurant stays on top of food safety.

This certification includes a course that covers several types of food hazards. You'll be able to identify potential causes of foodborne illnesses. You'll also be able to follow all regulations and monitoring procedures.

Instead of taking an online exam, you'll have to go through a three-step audit in order to get certified. You'll need to create a plan and work with an auditor to successfully complete your certification.

Are You in Need of Food Safety Certifications?

If you want to make sure that your restaurant staff isn't going to make your customers sick, then food safety certifications are a must! Taking the time to prep for the exam and get the certification is well worth the time and expense. Before you know it, you'll have a kitchen staff that's well-versed in keeping your customers happy and healthy!

Are you looking for a reliable place to get your staff certified in food safety? That's what we're here for! Contact Cenza+ today to learn about your food safety training and certification options.

View All Recent Posts